Enabling poor rural people
to overcome poverty


Latest press releases

UN agency head to highlight need for investment in smallholder agriculture at BRICS Agrobusiness Forum
Moscow, 2 October 2015 – Days after world leaders pledged to tackle poverty, inequality and climate change at an historic event adopting the new sustainable development agenda, Kanayo F. Nwanze, President of the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), will join agriculture ministers at the AgroBusiness Forum in the Russian Federation to highlight the importance of increased investments in rural development.

English | Russian

IFAD and CAF commit to reducing poverty and hunger in rural Latin America
New York, 28 September 2015 – On the heels of the adoption of the world’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) at the UN Summit, the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) and CAF - the development bank of Latin America - signed an agreement today to further strengthen their collaborative efforts to eradicate poverty and hunger in rural areas.


Ecuador: Proyectos de desarrollo rural promovidos por el FIDA suman US$ 119 millones
Quito, 22 de septiembre de 2015 - La actual cartera de proyectos promovidos por el Fondo Internacional para el Desarrollo Agrícola (FIDA) en Ecuador suma US$ 119 millones y se prevé que beneficie a cerca de 50.000 familias rurales pobres.


EU, IFAD and ASEAN launch 16 million euro programme to support smallholder farmers
Makati City, Philippines 21 September 2015 – A new development programme designed to improve the income and food security of 10 million small-scale farmers and rural producers was launched earlier this month at the 37th meeting of the ASEAN Ministers of Agriculture and Forestry (AMAF) in Makati City.



Read more

Media contacts

James Heer
Television Broadcast
Tel: +390654592550
E-mail: j.heer@ifad.org
David Paqui
East and West Africa
Tel: +390654592213
E-mail: d.paqui@ifad.org
Katie Taft
Senior Management Spokespeople
Tel: +390654592396
E-mail: k.taft@ifad.org
Susan Beccio
Asia and the Pacific
Tel: +390654592479
E-mail: s.beccio@ifad.org
Jessica Thomas
General inquiries
Tel: +390654592215
E-mail: j.thomas@ifad.org
Juan Cortes
Latin America and the Caribbean
Tel: +390654592882
E-mail: j.cortes@ifad.org