Skip to Content
X

Media invite: IFAD and WEF panel - Protecting food security during COVID-19

27 May 2020

 

Dear member of the media,

We would like to invite you to join our online briefing with experts from the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) and UN Goodwill Ambassadors for IFAD Idris and Sabrina Dhowre Elba on food security in times of COVID-19.

Date: Friday 29 May 
Time: 13:00 New York Time/ 18:00 British Summer Time/ 19:00 Central European Summer Time 

To attend, please register at www.wef.ch/covidfood   

Speakers

Gilbert F. Houngbo, President of the International Fund for Agricultural Development

Sara Mbago-Bhunu, Director of IFAD's East and Southern Africa Division

Joined by:

Idris Elba, Actor, Humanitarian and IFAD Goodwill Ambassador

Sabrina Dhowre Elba, Actress, Model and IFAD Goodwill Ambassador

Moderated by: 

Adrian Monck, Managing Director, World Economic Forum 

The COVID-19 pandemic may see more than a quarter of a billion people suffering acute hunger by the end of the year unless swift action is taken to ensure food supply chains keep running. Even before the crisis, more than 820 million people were going hungry. The majority of the world’s poor and hungry people live in the rural areas of developing countries, many working in small-scale agriculture.  Restrictions on movement and trade mean that they cannot access inputs or markets, threatening both lives and livelihoods.  

​Africa could be the worst hit from the economic fallout of the crisis: 80 million Africans could be pushed into extreme poverty unless immediate measures are taken.  

You can send your questions in the registration form, or in advance by email to Aylin.Elci@weforum.org and to Maxwell.Hall@weforum.org with your full name, your country and your media organization before 12:00 CEST Thursday 28 May.  
 

Best,
Adrian Monck
Managing Director
World Economic Forum